Too Blessed to Stress

Yesterday, Sydnie and I planned our spring break trip. We get 3 weeks for Easter break here, but Sydnie is going home (permanently) April 17th, which is right in the middle of the break, so we are only planning for one week. We are going to go relax on the beach in Ibiza, and then we are going to go hang out in Venice for a few days. I am so thrilled to be going to both places, and I know I am blessed, but I can’t help but wish I would be doing more with my time. Shortly after Sydnie leaves, my parents are coming, and then I will just be hanging out with them and doing local trips for the rest of my break. I am so happy my parents are coming, and I can’t wait to spend time with them. But when I hear about what everyone else is doing with their three weeks, it is hard to remember that I will still have plenty of time to travel later in the semester. This is not the end of it for me. And no matter how little I travel, it is still more than I would have done if I wasn’t here.

Already, I have gotten to do so many cool things.  I signed up to do the presessional course, which got me here two weeks before classes actually began. I had to sit through a class every day during those two weeks, but we also went on trips. We toured the Gower Peninsula (stopping at places like Rhossili and Caswell Bay), then we went to The Mumbles—a beautiful little town right outside Swansea. We also took day trips into Wales’s capital, Cardiff (where we toured Cardiff Castle), and into Bath (where we toured the Roman Baths and wandered the city). I’ve seen Stonehenge and the Magna Carta in Salisbury Cathedral. I’ve gone to Conwy Castle and hiked (part of) Mount Snowdon in North Wales. I spent one weekend in Paris and another in London. And I wouldn’t have done any of these things if it wasn’t for studying abroad.

I know it sounds cheesy and that everyone says it, but this is a life-changing experience. Sometimes it’s hard to look at all of the things the other study abroad kids are doing that you’re not and not get jealous. Honestly, it’s harder than I thought it would be. There are so many amazing places in this world, and I want to see them all. There just isn’t time (or money) for all of that. It’s just important to maintain the right perspective. I am blessed to be here and blessed to see and do all the things that I am.

Now if I could just get my act together, I would tell you in more detail about what I’ve done.

Leave a Reply

